Saraki Should Be Senate President – Poll

Bukola Saraki Bukola Saraki, senator representing Kwara central has been voted next Senate President by PM News readers in an online poll conducted on 23 April.

Pres. Jonathan Sues Senate & House of Reps Over Constitution Amendments


The presidency has filed a lawsuit at the Supreme Court against the House of Representatives and Senate, to nullify proposed amendments to the 1999 constitution. According to Premium Times, the suit was filed because President Goodluck Jonathan did not approve of some of the amendments to some sections of the

Suswam Backs Akume For Senate Presidency


The incumbent governor of Benue state, Gabriel Suswam has thrown his weight behind the Senate Minority Leader, George Akume in his bid to lead the 8th National Assembly when inaugurated in June. According to Governor Suswam, since there was nobody from the state vying for the position, he was supporting

Saraki, Akume Split North-Central Senate Caucus


Fresh intrigues are beclouding the contest for the office of the President of the Senate in the 8th National Assembly following the reported split of the North-Central caucus of the Senate between two groups. Senators George Akume and Bukola Saraki have emerged as front runners on the basis of the

Senate Orders FG To Recall Nigeria’s High Commissioner In S/Africa

The Senate has asked the Executive arm of government to recall Nigeria’s High Commissioner to South Africa following the spate of xenophobic attacks on Nigerians and other African nationals. The Senate also asked the Executive to file a suit at the International Criminal Court against the Zulu King, Goodwill Zwethilini,

APC leads senate with 62 seats, PDP gets 45

David Mark, Senate President of Nigeria Below is a table of the latest available results from constituencies declared in Nigeria’s March 28 national assembly elections, according to data released by the Independent National Electoral Commission on Thursday.

How “unholy acts’ by Igbo PDP leaders robbed South East of Senate President, House Speaker slots – APC leaders


South East APC leaders recount how Igbo leaders was rigged the March 28 National Assembly and Presidential elections. The post How “unholy acts’ by Igbo PDP leaders robbed South East of Senate President, House Speaker slots – APC leaders appeared first on Premium Times Nigeria.

INEC Promises Improvement In April 11 Polls

Ahead of the April 11 Governorship and House of Assembly elections, the chairman of the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC), Professor Attahiru Jega has promised to address the hiccups experienced during the March 28 Presidential and National Assembly elections. Professor Jega, who made the promise at a meeting with the

Nigeria: APC Now Majority, Won 64 Seats In The Senate

Following the announcement of last Saturday’s results, by the Independent National Electoral Commission, INEC, on Tuesday, the opposition All Progressives Congress, APC, now has the majority status in the 109 membership Senate. Previously, the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP, enjoyed the majority status in the Senate with 64 members while the

Elections: APC Sweeps Senate


Eromosele Ebhomele, Kazeem Ugbodaga & Jamiu Yisa The All Progressives Congress, APC, apart from winning the presidential election conducted last Saturday, seems to be coasting home to victory as the various results for the election into the National Assembly are being announced.

Gov. Yuguda loses senatorial election

Governor Isa Yuguda The candidate for All People’s Congress (APC) vying for the Bauchi South Senatorial seat, Malam Ali Wakili, has defeated Governor Isa Yuguda of the People’s Democratic Party (PDP), to represent the District in the National Assembly.

APC ends Hayatu’s 16-year stay in Senate

Senator Bello Hayatu The All Progressives Congress (APC) has won the Kano North senatorial seat, defeating Senator Bello Hayatu, who has been in the Senate since 1999. 

APC wins all the senatorial seats in Oyo

Gbenro Adesina/Ibadan Governor Abiola Ajimobi of Oyo State Senatorial candidates of All Progressive Party (APC) won in the three Senatorial Districts in Oyo state.

PDP Confident Of Victory In March 28 Polls

The leadership of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) says it is optimistic that the party would emerge victorious in Saturday’s presidential elections. The National Publicity Secretary of the party, Mr Olisa Metuh, told a news conference in Abuja that the PDP has mobilized enough grassroots support to guarantee the party’s